Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Health Insurance Alternatives? 2010/12/21 08:42
Hi,

I've been working in Japan for 2 years but I left my job to start a post-grad degree from April.

I signed up for the government-run health insurance scheme (国民健康保険) because I told it was mandatory for all students studying here for longer than a year (and it seemed like a good idea).

The problem is that it seems the rate is based on my tax amount from Last year. So while I'm not earning now, and won't be once I start my degree, they're going to charge me 50,000 a month for insurance.
(Side note: I was paying 25,000 a month at the company and the company paid the other half.)
Also one other oddity, I noticed for the first year I was here, I was still paying 25,000 yen a month, even though they wouldn't have had last year's tax to calculate my insurance rate.

Does anyone know if there's a way around this?
Private health insurance, somehow getting them to ''update'' my tax stuff based on the fact I'll be on a student visa, anything.
I really don't want to spend 50,000 a month for 12 months while not earning :S
by oak oak  

... 2010/12/21 10:05
As long as you weren't earning above a certain amount (about 11 million yen) for the previous year there is a petition you can file to have your premium rate adjusted.

When you left your company, were you informed on 任意継続? (http://www.kyoukaikenpo.or.jp/11,0,45.html

This option is often cheaper for the first year after leaving your company but since you quite in April, you are no longer eligible.
Still might be worth calling them, especially if you were not informed of that option by your company.

by kyototrans rate this post as useful

Readjustment form name? 2010/12/21 10:19
Thanks for the information.