Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Permanent resident various renewals 2011/2/24 15:42
Hi...I am a permanent resident. I will be out of the country on an extended travel/trip and while I'm gone, my re-entry would expire, my driver's (Japanese) is up and my Alien card also expires...what to do? I will be still in the country 5 months before the re-entry expires...

1) Can I apply for a new re-entry even though I have 5 months "remaining" on the old one? I read I can get a 4 year re-entry...? True?

2) Can someone else take care of my driver's license for me as I won't be here...

3) I will have my ARC with me, so can't renew it...Can I just renew it when I come back to the country...

Thank you in advance...I searched but couldn't find these specifics...
by blackpepper14  

... 2011/2/24 16:37
1) You will have to get a new re-entry permit in any case "before" you leave Japan. Once you know the exact travel dates (preferably with a written/printed itinerary in hand), ask at Immigration Bureau.

2) No, renewing the license involves eye-test and ID photographing on the spot, so you have to do it yourself. There is a process for early renewal in case you cannot renew it during the specified period. Again, please inquire with the driver's license center that you go to for the exact procedure (and starting when you can go for early renewal). Once again you will probably have to show some proof (such as written itinerary) of your time away from Japan.

3) Once again you should inquire with the city hall "before" you leave what you should do. When you come back in through the airport immigration and show an expired ARC, some eyebrows will go up.
by AK rate this post as useful

Thank you...but... 2011/2/24 17:53