Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Buying television in Japan 2011/2/28 22:59
Hi, I'm an exchange student in Japan and am looking to buy a television. I'm not here for much longer so I'm looking to buy something cheap, possibly second-hand online because I hear it's the cheapest way. I've checked stores in Akihabara, the big ones like Yodobashi and Sofmap and even with discounts it's too expensive for me considering I'm only here for about half a year longer. But I think watching TV really helps to improve your Japanese so even with not much time left I still want to buy one.

However the main problem is I'm so confused about the television system in Japan. Can anyone explain to me about the difference between Analog and Digital (’nƒfƒW?) in Japan? I can read Japanese but I have no sense for electronics and TV specifications that even reading the guides and terms I get confused! Apparently I read that Analog TV signal will not be received after July this year so does that mean I have to get a Digital TV? And what is a BS Card or CS?@ƒuƒ‰ƒEƒ“ŠÇ and ‰t» telvisions? And then there's something about eco-points as well. Please if someone knows about this, I could really use some advice! I'm afraid to buy something and then have it not working when I get it (assuming I buy online through Yahoo!Auctions).

I've also tried borrowing a USB thing (it's a 2007 product - not sure of the exact term for it, a tuner?) which can watch TV on your computer monitor from a Japanese friend. However I can't get any reception from my place because I live on the 2nd floor but when I brought my computer to my friend's place in their apartment it worked because he lived on the 15th floor. So does this mean even if I buy a TV it won't receive anything unless it's the newest technology, the ’nƒfƒW??