Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Graphic Design in Japan 2011/5/31 20:16
Hi all
I am a teacher married to a graphic designer. Although neither of us speak Japanese we both wish to live in Japan, having visted numerous times.
Are there any jobs for foreigners in the Graphic Design field (with little/no Japanese)? He has over 14 years' experience and a degree in Graphic Design.

Thanks!!
by Kaybe  

To Japan 2011/6/1 14:22
There is a huge difference between visiting a country for a short while and making a full time living there.

Anyone wanting to live in a country, any country, MUST know the language of that country in order to first survive then thrive.

You don't have to be fluent at first but the faster you improve your language skills , the better the chances to get a job...especially in Japan where, unlike North America for example, few people have ancestors that came as immigrants only a couple of generations ago. .

If you were sent to Japan by a company in your home country , that would allow you to work in English, you would have a better chance..still, because Japanese is so different from Roman alphabet languages, you would have to learn Japanese fairly quickly ..

Because of the cultural difference in each job, unless your husband was world famous and in demand he would be less appealing to a Japanese company than a local person.

I came to North America with skills and experience in designing houses and supervising their construction....but because building practices in North America were so different from those in Europe I couldn't get job....luckily for me I could read and write English and French and North Americans are used to immigrants...still it took me 10 hard years before I could get a decent job.