Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

how to get into a japanese college 2011/10/9 11:01
Im an 11th grade IB student in virginia. I've always wanted to go to japan firstly. But what i want to do in life is become a video game designer or as a backup some sort of technician involving computers. (In other words im a nerd with swagg) Then i thought of going to japan for college so i can kill 2 birds with one stone. i found out theres a couple schools that you go to in japan for like a 1 1/2 a year learning japanese and their customs but i have no clue what is required to even get started on something this big. hopefully some can help.
by Deontae Jackson (guest)  

Re: how to get into a japanese college 2011/10/9 22:34
With what you are doing you'll need to speak Japanese. It's not impossible and there are many people who do the same thing. Most are chinese though.

What I recommend you do is go to a language school for 1-2 years in Tokyo/Yokohama/Kanagawa/Saitama (The Tokyo area) or even in Osaka. The language school will prepare you and a bunch of other future college students. They will help you with your college applications too when that time comes.
An example of one language is Tokyo Riverside School.
tokyoriverside.co.jp
It looks pretty good.
From some friends i know who went thru the language school route, their views may sound a little controversial but they say avoid many of the other language schools that are like almost all European. Most of those are not so serious, and are just people who are taking some short 1 year vacation in japan and not studying for future job or school. the one above is good i think.