Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

IT jobs in tokyo? Visa eligibility? 2012/1/12 15:50
Hey everyone,

I'm looking into the idea of moving over to japan to work in the IT field sometime towards the end of 2013. Specifically in the tokyo or gunma area.

I currently have a job with a Japanese company here in the US that i've been a Systems Engineer at for 2 years now. I will have my Bachelors degree in network security sometime in spring of 2013. I can speak semi-fluent japanese(2 years in high school) and am working on getting my JLPT level 1 cert.

Based on what i've been reading about visa's and eligibility, having the degree and relevant experience should help when applying for one right?

Also, do most companies require that you already have a visa when applying for jobs? If at all possible, I'd like to secure a job first before going through with applying for the visa and residency status.

Any related info on this would be greatly appreciated! thanks.^_^
by sftmb4  

Re: IT jobs in tokyo? Visa eligibility? 2012/1/12 19:16
Is there any chance that your current employer can send you to its Japanese operations for a few years or something like that? That would be the easiest way (Intra-company Transferee).

Immigration requirements for a work visa (in addition to having an offer from an employer in Japan) is that you have either a bachelor's degree, or, several or more years or relevant work experience. So once you've got the bachelor's degree, you meet the minimum requirement.

I have no IT knowledge to judge if a two-year experience as a systems engineer makes a candidate so attractive that an employer in Japan would hire that person over a Japanese in Japan.