Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Chinese, Japanese or Korean? 2012/2/25 16:49
May have to pick up one of these 3 languages.
I'm taking Hindi and Urdu classes at the moment and speak Romanian, Italian and English.
However, as Hindi and Urdu require a lot of time, I would prefer to pick up whatever language is easier. So I would like to know which of these 3 languages has an easier grammar, easier script, is more phonetic and logic. So which would be the one that requires less amount of information memorized ?
Thanks
by Andreea (guest)  

Re: Cinese, Japanese or Korean? 2012/2/26 02:55
well i am starting to learning japanese and am not very far at all and also a couple of days ago i wanted to see how hard korean is and, this is my opinion so it may not be right because I'm a beginner but korean is the simplest i would think. it easier to remember the characters and there's not that many as well.
by Shebba aka Sterling (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Cinese, Japanese or Korean? 2012/2/26 03:16
Yes, I read in more than one place that Korean is the easiest among these 3 but I would go for Japanese. I like their culture and it can also be of some help while Korean I don't really know how/if it will help. Chinese I guess I'll pass for now...
by Andreea (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Cinese, Japanese or Korean? 2012/2/26 14:23
As far as I know:

- Chinese language follows the same grammar pattern as some of the European languages, such as the word order of: subject, verb, then object. Japanese and Korean are said to be similar in grammar, and follow the pattern of subject, object, then verb, for example.

- Chinese pronunciation is quite difficult, at least for me - the same "sound" as written in alphabets would have four different "tones" - flat, going up, going down, etc.