Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Is stroke order important? 2012/3/31 09:39
Well I know that the stroke order is important for the kanas and kanji, but do people really write nowadays? I-ve read in a few articles that you no longer have to take the time to actually learn the stroke order, since almost nobody writes with pen or pencil now. But as a non native japanese learner, should I learn?
by darkhpgirl  

Re: Is stroke order important? 2012/3/31 11:17
Of course!
Why don't you want to follow the stroke?
In kanji writing, like alphabet words, all lines & points are connected by one dancing line like a ballet, start, run, stop, jump, etc.
SO beautiful & balanced. You may not advance in learning, if you don't follow.
by ay (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is stroke order important? 2012/3/31 14:31
I'm a high school student, taking Chinese I.
There are lots of words that I write out of order, but generally, I try to write the strokes correctly. In reality though, it's really hard. The top to bottom left to right rule isn't always helpful, especially when you have a really complicated kanji and you don't know where to even begin.

I doubt it will prohibit your learning though because I write a lot of words out of stroke order, yet my Chinese teacher says that my handwriting is beautiful, like a native's. That's a very high compliment coming from someone who (A) Is only a Chinese I student and (B) writes some of her characters out of stroke order.

But I agree with Ay that it is important. When you don't know the correct order, it messes you up and can make the word look different. But obsessing every time you write a kanji is what's going to hold back your learning. I say don't stress about it too much If you write out of order sometimes.

by Candy (guest) rate this post as useful