Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Teaching Eng as a non-native speaker with Bc 2012/4/23 23:06
I'm a Dutch student following a studies called "English Teacher Program for High School and Professional Education". Right now I have to choose my minor and here I am terribly confused.

The first option is doing a minor in English which will eventually lead up to a Masters degree in English Education.
The second option is going abroad for half a year, with either Japan and England as an option.

I don't really know which one will benefit me better when I'm going to look for a job in Japan. Option 2 is more expensive, but I can show that I have experience (and then which is better England or Japan?) while option 1 will give me a deeper knowledge of English.

I'm really at a loss!
Anybody experience as non-natives, or some good advice?
by Rubine  

Re: Teaching Eng as a non-native speaker with Bc 2012/4/24 13:55
As most Language Schools in Japan do not expect you to speak Japanese if you want to teach english, I guess I would go with the first option. Or then with the second option, but in england to improve your English
by blubb (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Teaching Eng as a non-native speaker with Bc 2012/4/24 23:07
I'm not a non-native Japanese speaker, I'm a non-native English speaker :P
by Rubine rate this post as useful

Re: Teaching Eng as a non-native speaker with Bc 2012/4/25 08:06
Option 1! The master degree factor will easily outweigh any leverage you might gain from the (short) experience. Think long-term.
by SEA monster (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Teaching Eng as a non-native speaker with Bc 2012/4/26 09:23