Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Degree not from home country 2012/5/28 19:15
Hi everyone,

I'm a British student currently taking a BA in Chinese Language with Economics in China, at Xiamen University. After graduation next year, I'm thinking of applying to either the JET program or a similar teaching route in Japan.

I understand that the JET program and a work visa naturally require a BA degree and so I'm wondering, do you think the fact that my degree isn't from my home country will cause any issues?

I came to China when I was 18, beginning my degree in 2009, greatly interested on studying and researching China and Japan, the languages and culture. Xiamen University is one of China's top 15 universities and is considered very prestigious within China, however like most Chinese universities, it doesn't have much of an international name for itself. I expect any employer would have to look it up when going through my CV.

Aside from the degree, I have some experience from a two month internship in an English school, as well as doing university-sponsored tutoring following on from the internship. I speak Mandarin fluently and aim to reach a semi-advanced level of Japanese by graduation (been learning for a while now).

My concern is nothing to do with prestigiousness, etc, I'm just unsure whether Japanese employers, namely schools, or visa offices will be unsure what to make of my degree since they probably didn't expect me to have graduated in China. Is there a preference for applicants to have graduated in their home countries?

I'm really hoping to gain work experience in Japan as well as a cultural experience I've desired since I was a young boy.

Many thanks to you all for reading!
by Joshuawbb  

Re: Degree not from home country 2012/5/29 11:06