Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Self-discipline 2012/7/6 09:26
Hi from Portugal!

I'm a 21 years old student and im getting a little lazy over the years. I want to become a active person and get some self discipline to do my work and build my dreams.
From history, everybody knows that Japanese people are the most disciplined people, and that bring they to sucess. I just wanna know about some books, or guides to teach me to be more self disciplined. I wanna accomplish objectives in my life and i need some hard discipline to guide me in my entire life.

Any kind of help i will be very please : )

Greets from Portugal, a country in a economic disaster :(
by TiagoSilva  

Re: Self-discipline 2012/7/6 17:52
I learned Self-Discipline from movies called Rocky, and another one was Taxi Driver...

Joking aside, if Japanese are really self-disciplined than others, I don't think we learn it from the books or movies. Maybe old tales tell us about a thing or two, but it's probably how our culture is. Only book I can think of is gBushidoh by Inazo Nitobe written in 1899 for western audiences.

Maybe you join Judo or Kendo Club? Japanese "do" means "the way" and most Japanese martial artists reflect the teachings onto the way they live till death. If you are lucky enough to find Japanese Sensei or Japanese-trained Portuguese Sensei, you might have a bit of it.
by jomonstrider rate this post as useful

Re: Self-discipline 2012/7/7 11:52
Techniques I used to increase self discipline:

- When I should do something but don't want to I tell myself "You don't have to want to do something to be able to do it."

- Write down start and end times I'm actually engaged in a task. At first it was far less time than I thought because the amount of time lost in breaks etc. gets big fast.