Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Death in the family 2012/8/29 04:57
Hi,

Is it customary in Japan that when somebody passes away to give some money to the family? I picked this up during a discusion about customs in Japan and wonder if it is true and where the money is used for.

B. Slager
by B. Slager (guest)  

Re: Death in the family 2012/8/29 11:41
I'm not Japanese, but I have some experience with this, so until someone comes along with more and better information....

What you heard is correct. The money is used to help defray expenses, for flowers, etc. It is called Okoden.

There are special envelopes with black and white ribbon that you are supposed to use. Fancy ones have actual ribbon (braid, really), while less expensive ones have the ribbon printed on the envelope. The ribbon is tied a certain way, as well.

My father-in-law also said that old bills should be used. If you use new bills, it implies that you were preparing for the person to die (which is unseemly), but if you use old bills, it is like saying ''I was caught unawares by his passing, these were all I had on hand.'' Even if the person had been dying for months, you use old bills. I don't know if that is a widespread custom, or just his idea.