Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Clothing do's and dont's 2012/9/29 06:01
I wasn't sure if this was the right section to include this in, but here I go~!

I'm a female sophomore, highschool, US student who plans on participating in a study abroad program next year around August! (It'll last for a semester - 6 months).

Is there any clothing I absolutely shouldn't wear?

For religious reasons and personal preference I'm already somewhat conservative with my clothing.

• I don't wear shorts unless I'm in the privacy of my own room.

• I don't wear overly tight clothing. The most you'll see me wearing is skinny jeans, but even then I don't feel comfortable wearing them unless y top is slightly above the knee or at the knee, etc. (Of course, no see-through)

• No cleavage.

• Sleeves – The sleeves have to reach at least elbow length.

If I haven't pretty much got it all ready is there anything else I need to be conscious of?

Thank you so much :)
by S Natsumi  

Re: Clothing do's and dont's 2012/9/29 10:26
S Natsumi,

Japan isn't some strict religious country, so you can basically wear whatever you feel comfortable in. As mentioned in other threads, Japanese women tend not to expose cleavage, basically because few have any, but the tendency of many Japanese woman over the age of 20 to wear longer sleeves and generally cover up is due more to wanting (sensibly) to protect themselves from UV rather than any particular inhibitions or customs against exposing flesh.
by Dave in Saitama (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Clothing do's and dont's 2012/9/29 11:47
you will probably stand out in summer months for being the most over dressed among all of your friends, especially regarding sleeve length and the lack of shorts