Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Volunteering in Japan during travel 2013/1/3 04:30
Hello everyone!

I have been to Japan a couple of times, and sometimes i was able to help out at for example schools. However this was thanks to the Japanese people i knew that got me such opportunities.

Now i would like to know whether it would be possible to contact schools by yourselves and see if you can help out. I assume this is uncommon, but i can imagine they are glad if you can help out at kindergarten and such?

Is anyone aware of any organisations, or what move i should make to make this realistic?

Some information which could help out when giving practical information:
-At the moment i am still a university student, majoring in Japanese studies.
-The level of my conversational Japanese is quite ok, and well i've got some English language skill as well as you can find out.
-I really like spending time with little kids and trying to teach them something.
-I will be in Japan during the first 2-3 weeks of February. Easiest would be if i could do some volunteering in Tokyo. And actually, well i would prefer to spend some time with Japanese little kids, but if this is too unrealistic i am certainly up for other volunteering. So if anyone has some information?

Thanks in advance!
by Momo (guest)  

Re: Volunteering in Japan during travel 2013/1/3 09:31
You can try this organization:

http://itsnotjustmud.com/
by John B digs Japan rate this post as useful

Re: Volunteering in Japan during travel 2013/1/3 09:34
Upon further review, it seems your desire is to help out in a school of some sort. I don't think this will be as easy as it may sound, since they don't know who you are. I'd try to volunteer first to establish some connections in the volunteering world and then do some networking with others there.