Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How Can I become a Maiko/Geisha? 2013/1/29 14:36
How can I become a Maiko/Geisha?
I am 14 years old in 8th grade. I would like to become a Maiko/Geisha in Japan. I don't want to become one just because it's Japanese, and they wear Kimono. But, I like everything about it. I am half Native american, 1 quarter Filipino, and 1 quarter white. I look pretty asian since most Natives do, and Filipino are asian. And, My skin color is not very dark because I am a quarter white and I do not go out in the sun too much. And, I only weigh 45kg. I have heard of a non- Japanese becoming a Geisha before, so I know there is a possibility I can become one too. I have been studying Japanese for 2 years and I can hold some conversation. But, I am having trouble on how I can contact an "Okasan". Is there any way I can contact one without going all the way to Japan? And, do you think I am able to qualify as a Geisha??
by angelolivia  

Re: How Can I become a Maiko/Geisha? 2013/1/29 15:49
I have heard of a non-Japanese becoming a Geisha before
http://blogs.wsj.com/japanrealtime/2011/06/07/foreign-geishas-future-u...

At least maybe you have to understand Japanese like this tv-show, I think,
because they are highest grade hostess and the embodimen of traditional Japanese culture.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-GxpV4e8K4
by ajapaneseboy (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How Can I become a Maiko/Geisha? 2013/1/29 18:16
maiko starts at 5-6 years old. It takes many years as novice to apprentice in customised one to one training not a large class instructorship.

Before answering your queries, the establishment will want to know- how and what type of visa will you apply to enter and stay in Japan since you do not have a degree or experience or Japanese residency?