Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

engineering studies in japan? 2013/2/8 05:43
Hello all!I am moving to japan soon for taking language courses during 1 year. I also have the intention to take the EJU examination. and then take the entrance examination for a university in Tokyo. I just want to know, how are mathematics in japan? I studied engineering by the french system during 2 years, in my country! in the french system concerning mathematics, they care mostly about the concept itself and reflexion, and during examinations you face some very abstract complicated problems. Is it the same in Japan, or do they give more importance to calculus?
another thing, is preparation for the EJU examination is equal to preparing university's entrance exam? in other words, are the lessons studied for the EJU are the same ones to learn for entrance examination for engineering?
does engineering require more practise than theory in japan or the opposite? in my country they care mostly about theory, and pure abstract mathematics and pure physics more than practical subjects. I tried to contact universities but they don't give me conreat answers! then I am looking forward to your answers!
by layloulay  

Re: engineering studies in japan? 2013/2/9 12:41
IMO, it is much easier to study mathematics, especially calculus in your country than in Japan.
Japanese math text books and lectures use old kanji(& old lectures, lol) to explain and even the native (me) couldn't comprehend clearly at college in Japan. But it was so easily explained in English at an uni. in USA.