Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 2 of 2: Posts 21 - 27 of 27
prev
1 2

Re: Neighborhood association pressure 2020/5/18 17:56
Your response to Ken was inappropriate. To start talking about foreigners as being ill-treated smacks of being above the locals. I have lived in Japan and have confronted any issue with a tried and true method- a round table discussion with all concerned parties, which may mean a visit to one of their meetings. If you adopt an antagonistic approach don't expect smiles and a bunch of flowers!
by couldabeen rate this post as useful

Re: Neighborhood association pressure 2020/5/18 18:38
Hi. I dont speak with any experience of what happens in Japan but I am a lawyer and often get friends or clients having issues with community title situations or neighbor issues, in fact at the moment I have a few clients looking at relocating due to issues with neighbors and the exercise is going to cost them well north of $100K once transfer duty and commission is taken into account.

The only observation that I would make is that a lot of these situations are generated by pride, and in most of those occasions I think that the husband is not wanting to back down in front of his wife (quite a lot of the time the true beef is between the wives and the husbands want to be the hero for their respective spouses). I am not saying that describes you - it might describe the chairman instead, or neither of you. But once you identify that it is an issue on either side then maybe you can work out a strategy to give something to move forward.

Very rarely (read "never") have I seen these things resolved permanently by lawyers at 20 paces or educating the other party about provisions of by laws etc.

See how you go, you catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar