The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is an agency of the United Nations that aims to promote the preservation and growth of the world's intellectual and cultural property. UNESCO is probably best known for designating World Heritage Sites, cultural and natural sites that show "outstanding universal value". There are currently 25 world heritage sites in Japan, 20 cultural ones and 5 natural ones.

World Cultural Heritage Sites


Added in 2013

National Museum of Western Art

Added in 2016

Jomon Prehistoric Sites in Northern Japan

Added in 2021

World Natural Heritage Sites