Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

what does she think of me? 2014/7/16 22:02
I know this kind of question has already been posted many times but every situation is different I believe.

I'm an intern student in a very big Japanese company near Osaka. Because I'm working in the research and development building the people working here are all engineers so as anyone would expect there aren't many girls. My department of 40-50 people has only 3 girls. So among these three girls there's a very cute a nice girl. I met her with most of the others members of the group when my boss introduced me the other people from the department during lunch. He said that she can only speak Japanese and as I had just arrived in Japan I ended up just saying basic greetings and maybe a few sentences of broken Japanese.

A few weeks later there was a nomikai (as the Japanese tradition in the end of April for newcomers and stuff). On the way to go I was in the same group of people as her (I didn't plan to I just went with my boss since I don't know the place) and I tried talking with her a bit but I think we were both embarrassed about not being able to speak Japanese and English respectively. During the nomikai I couldn't talk with her because I was at the newcomer/boss table. When it ended people went in different groups and I went to the one where she was going (I was asked if I wanted to join by someone else) and I spoke a bit more to her, just small talk but it was nice, the alcohol helps talking in languages you don't feel fluent in.