Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Should I dorm? 2014/7/23 12:06
I will be attending Waseda University this fall and was wondering if it would be better to dorm or stay on my own for the first year. I am an international student so I would like to be able to meet loads of new people. However I am concerned about the dorming situation. For example the dorms seem quite far from the campus. Also Waseda has its own dorms (WID) and then dorms from another company (WRD). If I were to live in the WRD dorms (which have students from many universities) would I still be able to meet people? I also hear that privacy is an issue with the dorms and getting an apartment closer to the university might be better.

I'm sorry that my question is kind of jumbled up :P Basically, would it be wise to dorm the first year and then possibly move out the next?
by Loremasterfyra  

Re: Should I dorm? 2014/7/24 09:47
Most people would choose to stay in a dorm for a year then move out the next year. Especially if it's going to be your first time in Japan (or first time on your own in Japan ) it is recommended that you stay in a dorm. No matter which dorm you stay at I believe if you put yourself out there you will be able to make friends.

Now some people do skip the dorms and move into their own apartments but it might be a little difficult to do if you are still living overseas. But there are websites that allow you look for apartments and pay in advance but those fees are ridiculously expensive and I recommend you to look for an apartment when you are in Japan.

If you stay in an apartment you would be living alone right? Since you want to make friends I say you should stay in a dorm first cause you have the chance to make friends while staying in a dorm.

Sorry for the long post!