Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Finding employment in Osaka 2014/10/21 23:27
Hi all,

I am married to a Japanese woman and we are currently living in Europe. Our goal is to move to Kansai area in Japan around January 2016, so we have a little more than a year to prepare everything.

At the time of moving I will be JLPT 3 level, approaching level 2. Furthermore I hold a MSc degree in International Business and have three years experience in (international) sales. My ideal job in Japan would be to work for a small or medium sized Japanese company, being responsible for part of the international expansion. Are such jobs within reach,or will it be very difficult to obtain one? I read a lot of articles stating that Japanese companies are looking to expand internationally, but I can imagine that they are hesitant to hire a foreigner. Does anyone have experience with this?

Follow up question: In case I cannot find a job within 3 months and I decide to teach English for a year to get a steady income, will companies consider me after that, or is it hard to switch from English teaching to a regular office job?

Since I am not a native English speaker, I am also wondering if it would be possible at all to teach English in Japan? I am willing to get a TEFL certificate, brush up grammar knowledge, commute to a more countryside town, and teach elementary school kids. Plus I would have a spouse visa.

I am sure my questions are far from unique,but somehow I feel more assured when my questions are personally answered instead of reading answers to another person's questions.

Thanks all for your time!
by Bennyhana (guest)  

Re: Finding employment in Osaka 2014/10/22 18:39