Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

2 jobs on dependent visa 2014/12/8 15:59
I could soon have a part-time job on a dependent visa. However, I wanted to know if it is illegal to freelance internationally while already working in Japan on a dependent visa? Would I need to get permission to freelance even if all my money would be coming from (most likely) British and American people? Note that I am a complete beginner when it comes to the work I will be doing freelance, so I probably can't apply for my own work visa to do that.
by Hapa Honey  

Re: 2 jobs on dependent visa 2014/12/16 23:42
first thing to consider is how much you are going to earn. based on how big is the income pick one :
- you can always declare it in the us and apply for foreign credits in japan because japan will apply double taxation. in any case extraterritorial incomes have nothing to do with your residency status
- do not declare it anywhere
by pascal13 rate this post as useful

Re: 2 jobs on dependent visa 2014/12/17 10:22
- do not declare it anywhere

That is not exactly a legit option, but for really small amounts. Also, Where you declare taxes depends on your citizenship. You may have to declare it in two countries, although you'll likely only have to pay taxes on it in one.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

Re: 2 jobs on dependent visa 2014/12/23 23:09
yllwsmrf: well that's just not true. i have always advised not to declare any income of $500 or less, can be more for some cases. Since the op is talking part-time job it might be in this range. As for your tax liability and double taxation, you should check the legislation again
by pascal13 rate this post as useful

Re: 2 jobs on dependent visa 2014/12/24 10:17