Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hakone or The Japanese Alps? 2015/2/28 02:22
My boyfriend and I are going to Japan in April 2nd-12th. We arrive on the 3rd evening and leave on the 12th evening therefore have only 9 nights and 9 full days there. It's our first time there.

We wanted to spend some days in Tokyo and Kyoto but also a couple of days in between somewhere in nature. We did some research and it appears that either Hakone or the Japanese Alps could be a good option, although I'm not sure whether the Alps will be open? We wanted to stay in a traditional Ryokan (with Onsen if possible) with amazing food in a quaint village with nice nearby nature walks on those 2 nights. We would prefer a more traditional and authentic Japanese location then a very touristy and commercial one, as I'm a photographer and prefer to go to places which are off-the-beaten-path. Which location would you suggest in this case - Hakone or the Alps? If the Alps, where in the Alps? Would it be too far for us to go only for 2 nights? Or would you have an even better suggestion of a location for a 2-night nature escape? Would you have a nice Ryokan preferably with an Onsen to recommend?

Many thanks in advance for your help, much appreciated.
by Carolina (guest)  

Re: Hakone or The Japanese Alps? 2015/2/28 08:53
Indeed, the higher elevations of the Alps are still covered by snow, but the medium and lower elevations are not anymore.

My recommendation for you is Okuhida in the Northern Alps:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e5940.html

And within Okuhida, I feel you may enjoy Fukuji Onsen.

There may be some snow left, and I am not sure whether there are many walking trails available. But it feels traditional and authentic.