Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Name not the same on degree 2015/3/26 01:21
Hello there,

I'm looking to change my first name, but I was informed by the University I graduated from that I will not be able to change the name on the degree.
I read from a few places that as long as you provide documentation that shows your name change along with your degree that there won't be any problems in terms of finding employment.
However, I plan to move to Japan around the end of this year seeking a teaching job and was wondering if my name being different on the degree would cause any problems despite providing documentation proving the name change.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John
by John (guest)  

Re: Name not the same on degree 2015/3/26 19:00
Having different given name(first name) is very rare case in Japan(surname change can be seen often by adoptions).
I think you will be suffered in difficulties unless you know the recruiter previously.
I recommend you to change your name after you got a new job.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Name not the same on degree 2015/3/27 05:46
Thank you for your reply. If I wish to take off my first name and just use my second name (which is also on the degree) do you think that will lessen the confusion?

John
by John (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Name not the same on degree 2015/3/27 10:00
No, it'll actually cause even more confusion.

Whatever name you give to immigration is important. Let's say you give First, Middle and Last name to immigration. All documentation will have to have the exact same name. Birth certificate, diploma, etc.