Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Anyone currently working for Peppy Kids Club? 2015/4/13 15:13
I got an offer from Peppy Kids Club and I am waiting to hear back from Interac in a week or 2. The responsibility of being alone in a class and making my own schedule is a little daunting. And being on a abnormal work schedule may be interesting.

Does anyone work for Peppy Kids Club and have any insight?

Thanks.
by Yamilluvia  

Re: Anyone currently working for Peppy Kids Club? 2015/4/14 00:15
I've not worked with PKC, but I'm an English preschool teacher in Japan at the moment as well.

First and foremost, have you worked with young children before? Being alone in a class with young children and no assistant teacher can be daunting, if not exhausting and risky. You have to be on your toes all the time, and kids can get up to just about anything the moment you let your guard down. I work with kids from 2-3 years old, and we have 3-4 teachers in a class. We managed, but not without tiring ourselves out trying to get them to sit down (short attention span!), going to the toilet (2-3 years old sometimes pee on the floor without you realising and you're expected to change their diapers), a child making another child cry etc. With all those distractions, you'd not only have to tend to the child but at the same time, think of something to do for the rest of the class and somehow keep your eyes on them as well.

If you get older children, it'll be somehow manageable with appropriate classroom management skills and being quick on your feet. However, with very young children and you receive no assistance AT ALL, I'd suggest you either take on Interact's offer or try as hard as you may to request for older children if possible. After all, you don't want to be responsible should anything happen to the children.