Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to deal with the horror students? 2015/7/5 02:07
Hi guys, sorry I'm totally new to this site and I wanted some advice.

Recently I moved to Japan and got a pretty nice job as a cram school teacher for kindergarten and primary-aged kids.

I've only taught a few lessons so far and it's my first time both teaching in a classroom and teaching young children. They are so cute! And when they're good, they're so sweet!

BUT today I had a substitute class where about 3 out of 5 kids who were noisy and rowdy. One of them doesn't listen AT ALL unless I step in very firmly, which I don't like to do because I only have an hour and he is distracting from the class. I have a Japanese assistant who is supposed to help out but they don't really listen to her.

I figured, okay fine, I'm just a substitute, put up with it for an hour and I don't have to worry about it again. All my other classes the kids have been sooo sweet and obedient so this one really threw me for a loop.

When the class ended the assistant actually told me they had been way more obedient than usual (coulda fooled me) and that they liked me. I think this is just because I'm a new teacher.

When I got home, I received an email saying that I was now permanently assigned to that class!! (and a few others that aren't so bad).

I want to be good at my job and I want these kids to respect me. They are about 7 years old and there are around 5 of them. I also want to work on positive reinforcement. I was thinking that maybe next week I bring some cute stationary and toys into the class and tell them that if they don't interrupt, sit and listen, and follow my instructions, that they can choose something at the end of the hour.