Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Internship only with university contract? 2016/2/10 02:04
Hello,

I am 22 years old and I come from the Czech Republic. I am pursuing a bachelor degree (last year) of International Trade at the University of Economics in Prague and currently I am studying in Germany at the RWTH University in Aachen.

To extend my experiences and fulfiI my big dream I have decided to find an internship in Japan (5-6 months). I know that for obtaining a visa I need the Certificate of Eligibility. My japanese company is already working on it (small start-up with no visa experiences), but we have found a problem concerning the sending institution. I am going to write my bachelor thesis during my internship, I will be fully enrolled at my university, but it will be an internship from my own initiative= without being a part of my studies.

Is it actually possible? Obtaining the Certificate of Eligibility only with a confirmation of study, transcript of academic records and recommendation letter from a professor (=without having a contract with my university) ? The internship compensation would be 100,000 yen/month.

It looks that the immigration office doesn't allow this. Do you have any experiences?

Thank you very for your answer and your help.

Barbora
by Barbora (guest)  

Re: Internship only with university contract? 2016/2/10 11:01
I do not see what kind of status you could obtain in your situation.

* You cannot get a regular work visa because you do not yet have a degree.

* You cannot get a student visa because you will not be enrolled at a school in Japan.