Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Cycling around Hokkaido in June 2017/1/26 12:36
Hello!

I am planning to spend 3 weeks cycling in Hokkaido beginning on 15 June. My intention is to stay put in one place for a week in the middle of the trip (so a 4 week trip in total) ... preferably a small rural town. Any suggestions?
Will the wet season be a hindrance then in Hokkaido?

I have checked this website but I am having difficulty finding anywhere to hire bicycles for at least 12 days of touring. So, can anyone recommend where I may be able to purchase second-hand touring bicycles please?

As mentioned, my plan would be to break up the 3 weeks with a 1 week stay in a rural area where I can volunteer as an English teacher at the local elementary school. I am a qualified English teacher with experience in Australia. So, can anyone recommend a website or starting point for this plan.

I'm looking forward to any help or assistance anyone may be able to offer.

Many thanks!
by Gypsy13  

Re: Cycling around Hokkaido in June 2017/2/1 07:08
While I can't recommend any specific place, there's bike shops a-plenty in Japan. That said, have you considered taking your own ride? It would eliminate a major point of uncertainty, and isn't all that expensive to do (airline policies vary, but from my experience they tend to be remarkably accommodating of sports equipment.) That's what I did on my 45-day length-of-Japan cycling trip.

Oh, and I don't think the rainy season is of much concern in Hokkaido.
by gfoulk rate this post as useful

Re: Cycling around Hokkaido in June 2017/2/1 14:17
Thank you gfoulk!
I appreciate your reply.

Yes, I think I will follow your advice and take my own gear.
The transport cost had been my major concern, but at least with my own bike there will be no issue of size, comfort etc.