Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 27

1 2
next

Getting a credit card in Japan 2017/3/1 14:33
Hi everyone. I’m sorry, this post ended up longer than I expected.
I would like to ask a few questions about the credit card process in Japan. But first of all a little bit about my situation.

This is my first time in Japan and I have been living here for a little over a year (1 year and a month to be exact). I have a full time job and and I have been working for this company for a year too. I applied for credit cards at different stores and companies during the past year only to be rejected each time. I’ve lost count of how many times I got rejected, perhaps a dozen times, including twice by Rakuten, twice by AEON and twice by LIFE car...companies where it is supposedly easy for foreigners to acquire a credit card. Other credit cards include, ESPOS, SOLENA (at Izumiya store), Japan Post Bank (my bank)...

I understand the difficulty foreigners encounter when applying for credit cards. I also understand fulfilling some official (and perhaps non official) criteria, such as full time job, good salary, number of years spent in Japan, validity period of the 在留カード(mine expires in 2 years time), having a spouse, might make it easier to get a credit card.

Except for not having a spouse and perhaps the number of years I’ve spent in Japan (1 year), I believe I fulfill most if not all the criteria.

I’m not pent up on why I couldn’t get the card, though if you have some ideas on why I couldn’t, it’d be helpful. Perhaps you read something between the lines and found out that I’m missing something. What I would like to know is: