Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Kyoto Day Trip plans 2017/3/29 19:27
Hi,

I am planning to go to Kyoto from Osaka for a day trip. Here is my planned itinerary:
Taking train from Osaka to Kyoto and alighting at Tofukuji and walk around the area. After which, walk to Fushimi Inari Shrine. Next visiting Arashiyama and probably slot in Nishiki Market? Lastly, to visit Gion.

Would want to visit Nishiki Market very much but have no idea where should I slot in. Can someone give me advices on where I should head to first, based on the places I would want to visit? Thank you! Would appreciate if someone could let me know what are the food I would need to try in Kyoto and the more famous temples/places I should visit. Thank you! It's my first time to Japan, will head there in May! :)
by Gina (guest)  

Re: Kyoto Day Trip plans 2017/3/30 12:37
Fushimi Inari, Tofujuki, Gion and the market are all within 10 minutes train ride of each other.

Arashiyama is 45ish minutes away on the other side of town.

If coming from Osaka, I would take the Keihan line to Fushi Inari and aim to arrive at 7am to beat the crowd.
Then again the Keihan line to Tofujuki, 2 minutes for Tofujuki.
Then Keihan line to Gion-Shijo, 6 minutes for Gion and markets.
Then Hankyu line to Shijo-Omiya and tranfer to Keifuku "Randen" line, arriving at Arashiyama for Arashiyama.
Then Hankyu line to Osaka.

All these can easily be viewed on google maps. A Kansai thru pass would best suit this itinerary.

This itineray can also be done in reverse...
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Kyoto Day Trip plans 2017/3/30 12:52
Actually, I just did some calculations, A Kansai Thru pass does not pay off for this day. There is not 1733/2000 yen worth of travel.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful