Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Bringing restricted medications to Japan 2017/4/27 04:05
Hi guys,
this is my first time here
I stayed as a tourist in Japan 5 times in the last 6 years in Japan, everything went fine clearing the customs, due to my axiety/insomnia problems, i always take with me some lorazepam tabs wich is a controlled/restricted substance in Japan .
I never declared this med and i never been asked /searched by the costums.

This time ( I'll be in Japan next Jun for a couple o weeks) I want to make things in the proper way so i mailed to the Narcotics Control Department (NCD) in Tokyo the follw:

Dear Madam/Sir,

I'm coming to Japan for tourism for about 10 days .I'll be arriving at Narita airport on June the 6th.
I've been prescribed by my doctor with 2 medications: LORAZEPAM 2.5 mg ,2 tables a day for insomnia problems and
LISINOPRIL(20mg)+Hydrochlorothiazide(12.5mg) named as ZESTORETIC a tablet a day ,for high blood pressure.

I kindly ask you if I can bring these medication to Japan (20 tabs of Lorazepam and 10 tsbs 30tbs in total for personal use ) and if I need any particular authorisation before/after I come to Japan [...]

Surprisingly the mailed me back within minutes :

ello,

Ifm a staff of Narcotics Control Department in Tokyo.

Thank you for your contact.

Because your medications are not Narcotics, you donft need our permission.

And Lorazepam is Psychotropics.

About psychotropics, if you carry more than 90mg of Lorazepam at the time of entry into/departure from Japan, you need to get the medical certificate about these drugs and show it with your drugs to Japanese customs.

About you, it may be not applicable.

Lisinopril and Hydrochlorothiazide are not any permission for 10 days trip. [...]

and then I mailed them again :
[...]