Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How good is Sophia University's FLA? 2008/6/4 05:30
Hi.

I'm a high school student from Berlin, Germany and I am graduating this year. I have applied to Sophia University's FLA because I wanted to go to Japan for an undergraduate degree since I have been there for 6 months a few years ago.
Sadly, I missed the application deadline for Waseda's SILS.

To be honest, I think I will be accepted into Sophia University. I'm not sure but I have a good feeling.

The thing that bothers me is that I don't know how good Sophia's FLA actually is. I mean, there are rankings, each showing me different things, about the actual Sophia University but not about this particular faculty. The same goes for Waseda's SILS by the way.

Maybe someone knows anything about how good Sophia University is. I would be glad.
by opseudo  

top notch as a uni though 2008/6/8 01:57
I'm not sure what you mean by "how good" but most people in Japan tend to just education by the name of the university and not by departments or faculties.
by Uco rate this post as useful

fla 2008/6/16 09:03
it depends very much on the courses you take there. Professers as well as the level of students varies heavily. So, choose carefully and I'm sure you can learn a lot there if you're motivated. Library is good and up-todate and some calsses are really good (mainly IBE from my experiences). But it is Japan, many students sleep and yet in many cases most of them get an A. But you should not care about grades, they have no value there since only the name of the universtiy has value. Follow your interest and do your work as good as you can. Administration is very helpful . I'd choose sophia's FLA again. but again it's all up to you.
by guru rate this post as useful

. 2008/6/17 10:47