Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Why does the word "English" have kanji? 2012/2/17 08:59
I've been studying Japanese for two years now, and it just struck me that "English" is the only foreign language in Japanese that has it's own kanji. Why does English have one and no other foreign language?

Is my idea correct that the English settlers went to Japan before the invention of katakana, leading to the Japanese giving English its own kanji?
by Mahari-san (guest)  

Re: Why does the word 2012/2/17 10:54
Chinese has it too ’†‘Œκ, so does Korean@ŠΨ‘Œκ, and French •§Œκ(less commonly used in conversations these days)
by naes (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Why does the word 2012/2/17 11:07
Almost all countries/languages have kanji, it's just they are rarely used- Ό”Η‰εŒκ (spanish), “ΖˆνŒκigerman) etc. Before katakana they attached kanji with the same sounds to the country (in most cases-•Δ‘ sounds nothing like America), but now it is much easier for people to use katakana. I imagine English gets to keep it's kanji because it's short and easy. You do see •Δ‘‰p‰ο˜b@and ‰p‘‰p‰ο˜b to distinguish between places teaching American and British English.
by vita (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Why does the word 2012/2/17 11:56
I am not sure what exactly you are talking but some points for you to understand the history and nature of Japanese letters:

1. Kanji (ideogram) letters were introduced (imported) from China about 1500 years ago. I guess it came in with the introduction of budhism.

2. Katakana and Hiragana (both phonogram) were invented by Japanese about 1300 years ago by deforming Kanji to simplify on order to describe easiliy the original Japanese language. Calligraphy helped this movement.