community-forum community-penpal community-userReports destinations-admission destinations-beenThere-solid destinations-bookmark-solid destinations-city_outline destinations-city_solid destinations-closedDays destinations-date destinations-getThere destinations-hotels destinations-hoursFees destinations-itineraries-3 destinations-nearbySpots destinations-pin-simple-outline destinations-pin-simple destinations-sortBy-dots destinations-tours destinations-tours5 destinations-town interests-agriculture interests-amusementParks interests-beaches interests-castles interests-city_solid interests-contemporaryArt interests-events interests-festivals interests-flowers interests-foodDrink interests-gardens interests-hiking interests-historicSites interests-industry interests-koyo-single interests-koyo interests-mangaAnime interests-museums interests-nature interests-onsen interests-parks interests-pottery interests-sakura-single interests-sakura interests-scenicRides interests-shopping interests-shrines interests-skiing interests-snow interests-sumo interests-temples interests-traditionalArts interests-traditionalTheater interests-viewpoints interests-volcanoes interests-wildlife interests-winterIlluminations news-section planning-tickets-2 planning-transportation-access planning-transportation-bicycle planning-transportation-boat planning-transportation-bus planning-transportation-car planning-transportation-plane planning-transportation-shinkansen planning-transportation-tickets planning-transportation-train planning-transportation-walk shapes-chevron-down shapes-circle shapes-star social-fb social-instagram social-twitter social-youtube ui-alert-construction ui-alert-warning ui-calendar ui-confirmed-outline ui-confirmed-solid ui-date ui-globe ui-lightbulb ui-no_entry ui-ok ui-pencil ui-reverse ui-search ui-time ui-video-play ui-x user-avatar

The Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass is a rail pass for exclusive use by foreign tourists. It provides pass holders with five consecutive days of unlimited travel on JR trains connecting Nagoya with Ise, the Kumano Region and Osaka as well as on buses in the Kumano Region.

Purchase the Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass

Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass
5 consecutive days
11,000 yen
Reduced rates apply to children aged 6-11 (50% off).


  1. Unlimited use of JR limited express and local trains along the lines shown on the map above, including the non-JR section of the Ise Railway around Suzuka.
  2. Unlimited use of the Wakayama Railway between Wakayama and Kishi.
  3. Unlimited use of designated buses around Ise and Kumano, including the buses between the inner and outer Ise Shrines, the CAN buses around Ise, buses around Owase and Kumano-shi useful for people hiking the Kumano Kodo, buses between Katsuura and Nachi Shrine, and buses between Shingu and Hongu.
  4. Pass holders can make up to four seat reservations on limited express trains for free (except for the Haruka limited express between Kansai Airport and Osaka).
  5. The pass is valid on five consecutive days. The validity of the passes is based on calendar days (midnight to midnight) as opposed to 24-hour periods.
  6. Only foreign visitors to Japan (on a temporary visitor visa) can use the pass. It cannot be used by residents of Japan.
  7. The pass can only be used by a single person. It cannot be transferred between multiple persons. The pass holder has to carry his/her passport at all times.

Additional Notes

Holders of the Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass cannot use the automatic ticket gates. They have to pass through the manned ticket gates, instead.

Points of Sale

The Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass can be purchased online or through travel agents outside of Japan. You will initially receive a voucher that has to be exchanged to the actual pass at a designated station inside Japan and within three months of purchase. At the time of exchange, you will specify a starting date for the pass which should be within one month of the current date.

Purchase the Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass


The Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass is a very good deal especially for travelers interested in visiting the Kumano Region from Nagoya, as regular tickets for a round trip between Nagoya and Kumano by limited express trains cost over 14,000 yen. The pass does not pay off for just a side trip from Nagoya to Ise, as regular tickets for such a trip cost only around 5000 yen.

Alternative Tickets

When accessing the Kumano Region from Osaka, the Kansai Wide Area Pass can be of good value. Unlike the Ise-Kumano-Wakayama Area Tourist Pass, the Kansai Wide Area Pass does not cover buses around Kumano, though.

Page last updated: July 15, 2016