The JR Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass is a rail pass for exclusive use by foreign tourists, which provides five consecutive days of unlimited travel on designated train and bus lines (including shinkansen and limited express trains) in the Kansai Region and along the Sanyo Coast as far as Hiroshima.

Purchase the Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass

JR Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass
5 days17,000 yen


  1. Unlimited use of local, rapid and limited express JR trains in the coverage area shown on the map above.
  2. Unlimited use of the Sanyo Shinkansen (including Nozomi and Mizuho) between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima. However, the Tokaido Shinkansen between Kyoto and Osaka is not covered.
  3. Seat reservations can be made at no additional cost at ticket offices. The first six reservations can alternatively be made at ticket machines, but subsequent ones can be made only at ticket offices.
  4. Unlimited use of JR ferry to Miyajima.
  5. Unlimited use of the Kyoto Tango Railway, which provides access to Amanohashidate.
  6. Unlimited use of the Wakayama Railway.
  7. Unlimited use of local JR buses around Kyoto and Hiroshima.
  8. Free use of rental bicycles at designated Ekirin Kun outlets within the covered area.
  9. The pass is valid on five consecutive calendar days (midnight to midnight).
  10. Only foreign visitors to Japan (with temporary visitor status) can use the pass. It cannot be used by residents of Japan.
  11. The pass can only be used by a single person. It cannot be transferred between multiple persons. The pass holder has to carry his/her passport at all times.

Points of sale

The JR Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass can be purchased online through various websites and at selected travel agents outside of Japan. The actual pass has to be picked up at a major station in the area covered before use.

Purchase the Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass


The JR Kansai Hiroshima Area Pass can be a very good value for travelers visiting the Kansai Region and Sanyo Coast as far as Hiroshima, such as visiting Hiroshima in a side trip from Osaka. Those not traveling as far as Hiroshima should consider the JR Kansai Wide Area Pass.