Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Train tickets 2015/2/18 04:25
Hi there,

This is my first time posting, so please let me know if this is the right spot.

My partner and I are planning a trip to Japan where we will be staying in the Kyoto area for 21 days. We are looking at train passes and are having a hard time deciding on which rail pass would be best (if any at all). Our Kyoto area travel plans are as follows:

3 days in Osaka
17 days in Kyoto
1 day at Mt Koya
Day trip to Nara
Sightseeing in Osaka and Kyoto for the days we are there.

Which rail pass should we purchase? Should we even purchase a rail pass at all? Would it be easier to just buy tickets at the station?

This is our first time travelling to Japan, so please excuse the noob questions :P
by Glebe  

Re: Train tickets 2015/2/18 12:47
That are some many days in Kyoto. The most I ever did consectively was seven.

I would recommend the Koya Pass for two way travel to Mt Koya.

As you are mainly focused in few cities, meaning a lack of intercity travel, a rail pass is not value for money.

However, if you travel extensively in a city in a day (to fro hotel plus 5 attractions) a bus or subway pass will be worthwhile. It depends on your itineary. As you are sufficient days in Osaka and Kyoto, there is not a need to rush about so I believe these passes are not applicable to you.

If you do decide to spend some of your Kyoto days out of Kyoto, then maybe you can consider a regional or national pass.
Places include Kanazawa, Himeji, Amanohashidate, Hiroshima, Kinosaki...
by joshua hugh (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Train tickets 2015/2/18 12:51
I agree, 17 days in Kyoto is A LOT, even with day trips! Maybe you could stay overnight in Nara and see it at a slower pace? The park is big enough to spend two days in!