Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Walking ahead of friends/colleagues 2015/2/20 15:51
In Japan is it rude to walk several metres ahead of a colleague? I'm a female teacher and my male co-teacher always walks several paces in front of me when we're going to class.
by Jinx77 (guest)  

Re: Walking ahead of friends/colleagues 2015/2/20 20:28
It's either he walks faster, or, if you both walking together, students suspect you both are boy/girl friend relationship, thus he wants to avoid the suspect.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Walking ahead of friends/colleagues 2015/2/20 22:03
In Japan is it rude to walk several metres ahead of a colleague?

If you're walking "metres" away from each other, you're not walking together. You may be heading for the same place, but you're two different people minding your own business. It's not about being rude or polite.

I'm a female teacher and my male co-teacher always walks several paces in front of me when we're going to class.

I don't understand. Is it like he's walking slowly, but runs away every time you catch up? Well, usually, teachers are in a hurry when heading for class.
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Walking ahead of friends/colleagues 2015/2/21 11:22
For example when we're teaching a class together, I will go to his office to meet up and we will walk to the class together but he insists of walking several metres ahead of me. Sometimes I have questions I need to ask about the class and I have to physically run to catch up to him. When I'm mid-sentence through a question he will cut me off with an abrupt answer and then rush ahead to avoid walking with me. Maybe you're right, that he doesn't want anyone to think we're in a relationship.
by Jinx77 (guest) rate this post as useful