Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

only been studying two months - why negative? 2016/10/21 03:48
Dear All - I have been studying Japanese for a few months now. I recently went to Japan and told people I am a student of Japanese (in Japanese). I asked someone how to add "but i am only studying Japanese for two months". I was told to say the following:
でも2かげつしか勉強していません。 I understand completely the sentence except why use the negative form of studying? Shouldn't it be でも2かげつしか勉強しています since I am currently studying . To me it seems like I am saying but I am Not studying.
Thank you so much.
by casgiv1  

Re: only been studying two months - why negative? 2016/10/21 11:03
I am sorry, but you don’t understand the sentence.
You have here,
…しか…ない construction. It means …only in English.

This construction is not a pure negation, but used to enphasize limitations, in your case, a very short period of studying.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: only been studying two months - why negative? 2016/10/23 18:09
If you want to say I have been studying for only 2 months, you'd say ”勉強(を)始めてから未だ(mada)2か月です。
でも2かげつしか勉強していません is your reply to a comment/question that you know very little Japanese and not meeting one's expectation.
For example, if you are asked you have $10, you say but you only have $2, でも$2しかありません。
by ay (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: only been studying two months - why negative? 2016/10/23 21:02
thank you both so much for answering this question. although i am new to Japanese I now understand completely. Looking forward to learning the subject more in depth with my teacher!
by casgiv1 rate this post as useful

Re: only been studying two months - why negative? 2016/10/25 04:48
That reason is "謙遜(ken-son)" not same "$2" case.
http://ejje.weblio.jp/content/%E8%AC%99%E9%81%9C