Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 29

1 2
next

Company assignment to Japan - Living costs? 2017/8/2 23:53
Hi folks,

First time here in this forum !

Today my manager floated me the idea of being relocated to Jpn (temporarily?) for at least 2 years. I was told to consider it and only if i am serious about it then we'll have the HR to make the necessary arrangements + video conf. interviews with folks from the Jpn branch office for formalities' sake. I work in the financial services industry. The Jpn desk function is under my department's purview(to be precise - my manager).

No expat package, overseas allowances or housing/rental subsidies - just my current basic salary converted to JPY... which is around gross JPY810K per month.

The company will provide me with the necessary housing (unsure of the size and location, was told this will only be known just 1 month before i move over) and they will fully subsidize the rental for 3 months. After which, i can either choose to stay on but pay my own rental or to look for other apartments on my own. The office is located around the area of Otemachi in Chiyoda, Tokyo.

My employee insurance plan will be transferred to the Japan office and will continue to be fully paid by the company (covers hospitalization, GP visits, dental excl. aesthetics).

Though, the assignment lasts for minimally 2 years - after which i could choose to stay or return to my country.

Just wondering - will my salary be sufficient for living in Tokyo - no expensive hobbies + still single in my early 30s but say if i want to get myself a car? I heard Tokyo has one of the highest living costs in the world (i been to Jpn for holidays but never really experienced daily life there).

Appreciate if anyone could share their experiences / tips / opinions.