Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Change student visa to work visa 2017/9/14 06:50
So, I've been learning Japanese for about 2 years and been to Japan once as a tourist.

I will graduate next year in Information Systems(bachelor's degree), so I was planning in trying to get a job as a programmer in Japan around 2020/21, I've been looking around some positions in the internet and many of them ask you to be living in Japan...

So my question is, if I enter in Japan as a Japanese language student for a year long course, can I start looking for full time jobs(which offer visa sponsorship) while there? If I can, do I have to wait a minimum time? Is it frowned upon by companies?
Besides losing the money I paid for the Japanese classes, is there anything else to be worried about?

(My country does not offer working holiday visa)
by Felipeoliveira  

Re: Change student visa to work visa 2017/9/14 18:09
Yes you can start looking for a job while being in Japan as a student.

There is a risk that you might not find any job after all; when they say they are looking for someone living in Japan, the potential employer might mean that (1) they want you to be in Japan so that they can see/interview you in person, and/or (2) they prefer to hire someone who already has some kind of work-permitting resident status, so that they don't have to go through the hassle of applying for a work visa for you. If someone on a student visa applies, they have to help you with the change of resident status anyways.