Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hokkaido Winter by JR Pass and car 2017/11/15 12:44
Hi

Our family of three (a 20-moth-old baby, missus and I) will be travelling to Hokkaido in February 2018 using a combination of JR East South Hokkaido Pass and a rental car. Our main interest is food and onsen. I have had some driving experience in Japan Alps and NZ South Island in winter months.

Day 1 - Tokyo to Hakodate by train
Day 2 - Hakodate
Day 3 - Hakodate to Lake Toya by car
Day 4 - Lake Toya
Day 5 - Lake Toya to Hoheikyo Onsen
Day 6 - Hoheikyo Onsen
Day 7 - Hoheikyo Onsen to Asahikawa by car
Day 8 - Asahikawa
Day 9 - Asahikawa to Sapporo by car
Day 10 - Sapporo
Day 11 - Sapporo to Hakodate (Yunokawa Onsen) by train
Day 12 - Hakodate to Tokyo by train

Any comments and suggestions would be appreciated.
1. Should we reduce a stay at Asahikawa to one night? We are going there mainly for the zoo.
2. We are spending a night in Hakodate on Day 11 purely to break up the travel time back to Tokyo. I first wanted to do a stopover elsewhere e.g. Aomori but it takes too long from Sapporo.

Cheers
by WagonWheels  

Re: Hokkaido Winter by JR Pass and car 2017/11/15 19:01
Did you have a look Arbeit flying directly into Chitose airport instead of Tokyo? Or to take an internal flight At least on your last day, so you donft need to stop over again in Hakodate and can enjoy an additional day in Sapporo or some onsen?

Enjoy your trip to Japan!
by LikeBike rate this post as useful

Re: Hokkaido Winter by JR Pass and car 2017/11/15 20:40
Did you have a look Arbeit flying directly into Chitose airport instead of Tokyo? Or to take an internal flight At least on your last day, so you donft need to stop over again in Hakodate and can enjoy an additional day in Sapporo or some onsen?

Enjoy your trip to Japan!