Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How do I get a design job in Japan? 2018/3/22 03:38
Hi all, I am an Industrial Designer from India. I have a bachelors as well as a masters degree from a well reputed institute in India. Even though I am happy with my current job, writing manga was always my dream. I believe that you can't really understand a place unless you stay there for a while. It is my childhood dream to live in Japan to experience Japanese culture. I can save a lot of money and move there but I want to try some practical options too. Is it possible for me to get an Industrial Design job in Japan? That too online, like even before arrival? I want to get a well paying job over there and write a manga in my spare time. I am not looking for a life long stay but at least 2 years will do.
I read a lot of negative reviews from other people who moved there and had no luck in finding a job in their fields. Most of them ended up working in stores & restaurants.

My real question is, is the job situation really difficult for qualified foreigners in Japan? and is it possible to get a job while you are still in your home country? Any help is appreciated :)
by Zarinofy  

Re: How do I get a design job in Japan? 2018/3/22 11:19
Are you fluent in Japanese? It's also the most important qualification.
by .. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How do I get a design job in Japan? 2018/3/22 13:33
There are plenty of industrial design jobs in Japan as they have very mature product design and manufacturing companies.