Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Advice from skilled speakers 2018/12/27 23:34
Hello everyone.

I am studying for JLPT2 next year and I am writing and reading many kanji every night. I am at that stage where I can read most kanji but canft ever remember them when writing them. I understand even Japanese get this problem. I can read difficult kanji mostly but will forget how to write something crazy simple sometimes.

My question is, I work from a flashcard app o use custom cards with and is it best to skip the writing part and just work from the KANJI side then if I can read it go to the next, or is it better to work from HIRAGANA and not move on until I can write the correct kanji from reading itfs hiragana?

What do you think?

Thanks
by dcd  

Re: Advice from skilled speakers 2018/12/28 07:44
I was born and schooled in Japan. Then I moved to the U.S. I know first hand that you forget kanji if you don't write it. I can still read them fine, but writing becomes forgotten as time passes. It's not good enough just to read - you actually need to write.
by A5 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Advice from skilled speakers 2018/12/28 07:58
Well, it depends on your goal. Nowadays you write nearly always on a computer or mobile phone so actually as long as you can read and understand the meaning of a kanji you CAN actually write it on a computer where you are writing in romaji and just need to select the right kanji. Thatfs the reason why even Japanese forget how to write kanji.

For JLPT you also donft need to be able to write anything.

But I understand that being able to write by hand is satisfactory AND helps in actually learning the form of a kanji and memorizing it better.