Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Changing name in Japan 2020/3/15 15:46
I'm planning to move to Japan after i finish School and University (right now i'm still in school) I know that's a long time away but my mind just can't rest thinking about this.

I'm in Afghanistan and i have an Arabic-ish name but i want a Japanese name in Kanji when i move to Japan, already found one.

Which path should i take though? I wanted to change name as i land in Japan but i'm worried about names i would have on my college degree.

Or should i change name here before moving to Japan (and ensure my degree is of the new name?)

Or just use the new name as a nickname with people and all but keep the original name for legal stuff.

What do you recommend? If you have any alternatives paths i'm interested to hear them.
by PoLLeN (guest)  

Re: Changing name in Japan 2020/3/15 19:52
Changing your name aint as easy as changing underwear lol.

You can not go to Japan and request a change of name .

You can do it in your own country i suppose but i dont know if you can change your last name.
Also i dont know if even if you had a Japanese last name you would be able to convert it into Kanji.

I think it would be written in katakana .
Someone correct me if i am wrong but the only one way you can have a name written in Kanji is if you are Japanese or if you get naturalized Japanese.
by saltystormspirit (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Changing name in Japan 2020/3/15 19:59