Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 25

1 2
next

SOFA to Work Visa (ALT?) 2021/9/22 14:50
I am a U.S. military member stationed here in Japan. My contract ends September of 2022 and I want to transfer from SOFA status onto a work visa, perhaps ALT as my degree is Political Science and it seems that ALT is the easiest route to start a life in Japan. Does anyone know the exact process of doing this? How would I go about searching for any jobs? Can I start the process while I'm still on SOFA? How difficult is it to find a job and get sponsored by a school? Or if anyone can point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. Thank you.
by Blake66  

Re: SOFA to Work Visa (ALT?) 2021/9/24 05:25
@Blake66

You are in an unusual situation. But, from what I've seen and heard, it is possible.

Since you are in Japan, you can search and interview for jobs at any time. Don't see why you are confused about such. Just go start contacting companies and recruiters and do interviews, as the scheduling permits. Just be clear that you would not be available to start work until next year (9/2022).

The tricky part would be the timing of your switch over from SOFA to work visa. Probably around 6 months out will be critical. This is because you don't want to get caught having to switch to a tourist visa, then having to apply for the work visa. It will usually be more convenient to do the switch from SOFA to work visa while in Japan.

You will want the company that will hire you to give you the job offer paperwork. If possible, you want that at least 3 months in advance. Then you want them to submit your application for the work visa. So, if/when you get the approval, you just have to go down to immigration to get your new visa.