Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Holiday in July? 2022/10/14 02:07
We are planning a once in a lifetime trip to Japan in 2024 as our honeymoon.
What I would like to know is what are the pros and cons of visiting Japan in July versus say Sept?
I am a teacher so a little limited by school holidays sadly.
Any input would be appreciated.
Thank you.
by Claire (guest)  

Re: Holiday in July? 2022/10/14 07:05
July tends to be hot and/or rainy. September is not much better, as it also tends to be rainy and can still be hot. But with the right attitude, visits can be great in both months.

A pros/cons explanation about all months of the year can be found here:
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2273.html
by Uji rate this post as useful

Re: Holiday in July? 2022/10/14 07:25
For me July is unbearably hot & humid while in September it starts to get bearable again. Still warm but less humid. But there are more chances of typhoons.
Anyway if you only have those 2 options I would clearly go for September unless you are fine with hot&humid.
by LikeBike rate this post as useful

Re: Holiday in July? 2022/10/14 09:56
Depend on what you wanna do.

July would be better for beach/watersports and festivals. But hot and humid can be troublesome for people.

September is cooler. Still warm but never really gets super hot. Chance of big storms though. But again rare.
by H (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Holiday in July? 2022/10/14 14:57
If you are interested in Hokkaido, it is said that there is no rainy season in Hokkaido.
(There is also a rainy season, but it seems that it is from the end of May to June.)
In July, you can also see lavender.
https://www.visit-hokkaido.jp/feature/lavender
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6826.html
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6828.html