Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Seeking advice on multiple travel Qs New Year 2022/12/11 12:55
Hi everyone, I am a complete newbie visitor to Japan and have been overwhelmed pretty much by everything as there are so much information....

I am so glad to find this forum, and would be most grateful if everyone could share your thoughts and shed some lights on the various type of questions I have please... anything is appreciated

1. As many have also asked, I am not sure what is the best travel pass to get for travelling with my partner.
Our journey will be
7 days in Tokyo/Yokohama
3 days in Osaka
5 days in Kyoto/Nara (but have to go to Sakai as well for an appointment)
3 days in Fujikawaguchiko
3 days in Tokyo before departure at Haneda airport.

I would be most appreciated if anyone could advise me....

i) which pass do I better get?
ii) for how many days?
iii) and from when to when (if applicable)

2. As I have multiple travels with Shinkansen, I am wondering if I have to booked for the exact time and date for each trip? I do worry about missing or spend too long waiting for trains at places I am not familiar with, especially when travelling around

3. Is it easier just to rent a car? though I heard parking is hard and expensive...

4. For travelling in Tokyo using the underground Fujikawaguchiko.
Is there something like a 7 day travel pass or anything I can get to use all metros without stopping and buying them everyday?
In the UK we have an Oyster card, you top up some money and just scan them at the station whenever you use it without stopping, is PASMO something similar that I should get?

3. Is it enough to have just a data sim card? Should I get a card with local phone number?