Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

More than 180 days in Japan in 2022? 2023/10/23 12:45
Hello everyone!

I am an Italian Student here in Japan, and I will stay here till may 2025. During this period my girlfriend (also italian) visited me for 3 months, and then decided to stay as long as possible. After 90 days we left Japan for a visit to Thailand, and then come back and got another 90 days tourist Visa. During her stay she won't work or doing anything illegal, but only to live together and travel in this fantastic country. I called immigration and the ministry of foreign affair to ask if is possible to do this process of in and out more than once, but they told that after 180 days in Japan you are supposed to leave till 1 year from your first visit is passed, but that this rule in not that strict and it's all up to the immigration in the airport. Now, someone have experience of spending more than 180 days in a year here in Japan after COVID? Or, there is any other way (not too expensive) to obtain a VISA for her?

Thank you to whoever will respond.
by Daniele (guest)  

Re: More than 180 days in Japan in 2022? 2023/10/23 22:13
There is no visa that doesn't require employment (or enrolment), family ties, money, or some kind of extreme circumstances. The closest thing to what you are looking for might be the working holiday visa but that requires her to have savings in her bank account.

What you were told about it being down to the discretion of the immigration officer who deals with you is basically true, so unfortunately there is no way to know for sure how things will turn out if she tries to spend more than 180 days in the country on visa waivers.
by / (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: More than 180 days in Japan in 2022? 2023/10/23 22:15
Also to be clear I don't think you should be using the term "live together" if you want immigration to play nice with you.