Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Spouse visa to Permanent resident visa 2024/2/19 14:06
Hello everyone,
Background:
I am a permanent resident and I have wife and child, wife is spouse of PR and my child has Long term resident visa both have one year of resident visa.

Question:
Is it possible to change for both my wife and child visa to PR visa?..

Note:
I am a company full time employee.
by Quick (guest)  

Re: Spouse visa to Permanent resident visa 2024/2/20 02:47
Hi

You will need to show that you have been married over 3 years and that they've been living in japan consecutively for at least a year.

They'd also currently need to be holding a 3 year residency card for their current residence status.

As you said they only hold a year right now, they cannot apply to be permanent residents until they get a 3 year card issued by the immigration. This could be in their next renewal, or they may get issued a 1 year card again, unfortunately only immigration gets to decide that.
by Shelly (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Spouse visa to Permanent resident visa 2024/2/20 08:43
oohh.. you don't want a visa, what you want is change of status.

visa ‚ resident status

and the rest is just like what Shelly said..
by @.. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Spouse visa to Permanent resident visa 2024/2/20 11:24
@shelly
Thank you very much for the clarification.
I understand that, have to renew the visa until I get three years of residence, then I could apply for PR.

Just for a note, Myself and wife are foreigners (My wife is not Japanese)

Shelly's answer applies for the above situation?...

by Quick (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Spouse visa to Permanent resident visa 2024/2/20 13:21
get term correct.

visa : is what you need/given to enter Japan. And your visa is used/cancel. Apply from outside Japan with COE

resident status : is what you are given once you enter Japan with the visa.