Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Car rental from Kawaguchiko to Kanazawa 2024/3/3 05:34
Hello,

This is my first time travelling to Japan and i was hoping if somone can share some insight on car rental experience in Japan.

I want to visit Fuji five lakes for couple days and also Kanazawa for another couple of days. My initial plan was to take a train/bus from Tokyo to Fujikawago and return to tokyo after 2 days and take another train to Kanazawa. And from Kanazawa take a day trip to Shirakawago and Tokayama. But this looks as if i will be spending too much time in travelling.

I realized that there is a Toyoto car rental close to Fujikawago station where i can pick up the car and use to go around Fuji lakes ( even the ones which are not so well connected by public transport) and drive to Kanazawa after 2 days stopping at Shirakawago and Tokayama. And if there are cherry blossoms in Matsumoto castle, we can also go there. ( i will be around these places from April 16- April 20)

I had a few questions hopefully someone can answer
1. Does that sound like a good plan?
2. I think i will have to be driving through the Japanese Alps, Is the driving easy there?
3. While booking in toyota rental car , its asking if i need an ETC, i thought it comes as a default option for all the cars, and how do i top up that card? Or do i pay it at the end of the trip?
4. I have a british driving icence, i can get a IDP which will most likely be in English, does it need to be translated in Japanese?

Thanks
by vishalnatekar  

Re: Car rental from Kawaguchiko to Kanazawa 2024/3/3 19:01
For my previous visits to Matusmoto Castle, I think mid-April is way too late. I have been there in February and March (different trips) and enjoyed the blossom (probably plum rather than cherry outside the castle grounds).
by JapanCustomTours rate this post as useful

Re: Car rental from Kawaguchiko to Kanazawa 2024/3/4 01:02